Monday, 26 June 2017

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

7747374 

 Series: Lorien Legacies
Author: Pittacus Lore
Page Count: 440
Published: August 3rd, 2010
Publisher: HarperCollins
  4.5 Stars ★★★★

When his planet is attacked by the Mogadorians, John escapes, with a few others, to Earth. However, the Mogadorians also made their way to Earth, and are planning on destroying it, just as they did his planet. Now John must wait for his legacies, or powers, to develop, so he and the remaining aliens from Lorien can defeat the enemy once and for all.

But first, he needs to remain safe and hidden, because while the charm put on those who escaped has them numbered by order of who can die next, the first three have been killed, and he is number four.

After having this book recommended to me by a few friends, I had to pick it up when I found it in the thrift shop (it seems I find all the best books there!). I didn't think I would like it very much, because I prefer the paranormal, with creatures such as vampires and werewolves, over aliens, but I was surprised to find myself hooked on this novel. 

There was a lot of tension, with John being on the run, having to move away and assume new identities very often with his guardian, Henri. I really liked this aspect of the book because it provided a dangerous atmosphere, which I always love. John's life was on the line, and his every move had to be careful and cautious, which, of course, he failed at doing. 

That brings me to the emotional aspect of the story. Whenever he made a mistake and almost exposed what he was, I was always worried that he'd have to leave and start all over again, which would have been a shame, because of course he meets a girl. While it seems a bit cliche, the romance in this book was actually well done and as a reader I found that it added to the emotional aspect and even the tension because John had even more reason to be careful, with more at stake.

There are sad parts in the book, and parts that are almost sad but not quite. I won't give away what happens, but near the end, I was really sad by what John had to face, and I almost cried! The ending itself is jam-packed with emotion and action, and it all leads up to a great ending. It makes me want to continue the series, to see what happens next. John is a likeable character, and his story isn't over yet. I want to know what challenges he faces in the future, and Pittacus Lore's writing style, the plot, and the great combination of emotion and tension has made me long for the sequel! I can't wait to get my hands on it. Unfortunately, I have a long line up on my to-read pile, but the sequel has definitely scored a spot on the list.

I recommend this book to YA readers who like books about aliens. If you want to read a book with action, emotion, and tension, this is a great pick for you.


Saturday, 24 June 2017

My Book Buying Addiction


I just want to warn everyone that I talk about some upsetting stuff like abuse in this post. If you'd find this triggering or unsettling, you might want to skip this post. For those who choose to leave now, I'll see you next week! Have a great reading weekend.

 ~~~

Hey everyone! So recently BookOutlet had a sale, and I got a $5 coupon, so I splurged on some books. However, I already own literally over a hundred unread books!

This is not unusual for me. I have a book buying addiction. There are so many books that I want to read, I can't keep up. And when I take a look at my finances and realize I have some extra cash to treat myself, the temptation is irresistible.

As far as I've seen, I'm not alone in this. Many other bookworms are addicted to buying books, even if they have tons of unread ones already on their virtual or physical bookshelves. However, I think that this addiction is a bit different for me than it is for other people.

Sorry if this gets a bit dark! Anyways, I lived with abusive guardians for ten years. When you're a young kid, just starting to understand who you are and who you'll become, the way that those taking care of you treat you is going to affect you profoundly. When you're being called un-repeatable names from the age of six to the age of sixteen, told that you're *insert negative quality here* on a constant basis, and have your opinions policed, this is absolutely going to result in some issues. Throw in some physical stuff as well and you've got a recipe for disaster.

What does this have to do with my book buying addiction? Well, some of my horrible deviant opinions must have come from the books that I read! Often, standing up for myself or breaking down was blamed on the books that I read. Somehow, there was a connection between me reading about vampires and me being depressed or thinking for myself. I don't see the connection, because there probably isn't one. After coming to this conclusion, my guardians decided to pack up all of my books, and hide them from me. I bought most of those myself. I was around fourteen when this happened.

This is where my book buying addiction, and my attachment to books, started.

I had to start my book collection all over again. I began hoarding books. I'm honestly surprised they didn't raid my room again. I bought books whenever I possible could, even if they didn't look particularly interesting. I became obsessed with taking care of my books. I was so careful not to bend the cover at all or bump the side of it against my bookshelf's corners.

When I finally moved out, I did get my other books back, thankfully. However, this resulted in me having double the amount of unread books!!

So now here I am, with some of those books still unread. Yet I keep buying books. And yes, when I put my books away, I am always careful that the covers don't bend and the screws holding the shelves together don't scrape against them.

Here are some of the books that I bought so long ago that I still haven't read!


Archon (The Books of Raziel, #1)     Sever (The Chemical Garden, #3)     Everlasting (Kissed by an Angel, #5)    Tempest Rising (Tempest, #1)


There are more, of course. But if I listed all of them it would take waaayyyyy too long!

So there's also the issue of guilt. I feel really guilty whenever I buy a new book. It's not like I've done anything wrong, but these guardians liked to make me feel guilty for everything possible. So that's carried into my current life and habits. For example, after my latest BookOutlet order, I felt so horrible guilty that I got a stomach ache. Yeah, not fun.

I'm getting better with this. After all, its just books! It's not like I've bought anything wrong. It's harmless, and I can spend my money how I'd like.

So, that's the story behind my book buying obsession. Hopefully, the reasons behind other peoples' book buying addictions aren't as sad. I hope I haven't upset or annoyed anyone with my sharing.... I just think that after all this time blogging, I've kept so much to myself that it's not obvious who I am as a person, that I might seem like an empty individual just churning out reviews on the internet. I want people to see me as who I am, and I want to let people know that if you're dealing with anything and need an ear, I'm here!

Let's end on a positive note, shall we?

This summer has been nice so far for me! I've had lots of time to read. I've also been making lots of art.

What I want to know is, what are you doing with your summer so far? Any plans?

And of course, tell me all about your book buying addictions in the comments below!

Monday, 19 June 2017

Hourglass by Claudia Gray


6421588


Series: Evernight
Author: Claudia Gray
Page Count: 339
Published: March 9th, 2010
Publisher: HarperTeen
  5 Stars ★★★★★


Bianca has escaped from Evernight Academy after a fight between the vampires and Black Cross. Now, she and her boyfriend, Lucas, are living with Black Cross, which is made much more dangerous by the fact that Bianca is actually a vampire. If Black Cross finds out, she could be tortured or even killed. 

While keeping her secret is hard enough, things become even harder when Balthazar is taken prisoner. Pretending to hate him, she and Lucas must now consider not only how to escape themselves, but how to rescue Balthazar as well. 

Things don't exactly go as planned, and Bianca struggles with the possibility of becoming a full vampire. She knows what kind of existence she'll have to live with if she goes through with it, but what will happen to her if she doesn't?

The third novel of the Evernight series really blew me away. It dealt with so much at once, including Bianca's relationship with Lucas, her love for her family and her struggle with her vampire nature. Everything seemed explored very deeply, and whenever I picked this up, I was totally captivated. 

Claudia Gray made this book especially emotional, particularly during the events near the end of the book. I will admit, I did cry a little (it seems I've been reading many tear-inducing books lately!) and I really, really need the next book. As soon as humanly possible. 

The level of emotion near the end shows how immersed in Bianca's world I found myself. I think the best part about this series is the relationships between the characters, not only Bianca's romantic relationship with Lucas but her friendships with Vic, Raquel, and especially Balthazar. After reading the first three books, which are written in Bianca's perspective, I honestly feel like I'm friends with these three too! Everyone feels so real, and the way that they care about each other is often touching. 

Bianca is one of my favourite characters in YA fiction because she is so strong. She is able to adapt to change quickly, she's passionate, and she's determined. She never truly gives up. I'm sad to know that there are only a few more books left in the series for me to read, because I just love everything about this series!

Aside from stirring up emotions, I found the ending of this book to be quite the cliffhanger. I can't wait to find a copy of Afterlife, though I'll probably wait a while to read it because I don't want to get closer to finishing the series!

Readers who like YA novels with vampires will appreciate the Evernight series. If you want a main character who is very likeable, and if you like reading about strong friendships and bonds through tough times, this series is for you!

Friday, 16 June 2017

50/50 Friday - Favorite/Least Favorite Book Read this Year so Far...



This meme is hosted at The Butterfly Reader and Blue Eye Books

This week's topic is favourite / least favourite book read so far in 2017


Least Favourite

 Neuromancer

Oh this was so easy.... Neuromancer for sure. I had to read this for school. It was soooo painful. I wrote a mini review on Goodreads, I'll post it for you guys:
" 1.5 stars

Where to begin?

Well I guess first I'll say that I read this because it was required reading for English class. If my grades did not depend on me finishing this book, I would not have continued reading it after chapter two.

Every time I picked this up, it was only a matter of time until I felt like my brain was bleeding.

I have no idea what the point of this book was. The writing style was hard to follow and it was just...confusing.

So why did I add that .5 stars? Well, the author was pretty good at writing descriptions. Some of the aspects of the society in this book were interesting.

But overall I really wish we could've read another book for class."



Favourite

 Mask of Shadows (Untitled, #1)

So I decided to ignore sequels read this year because there are quite a few great sequels I read that could claim this spot. There are many awesome books that I've read so far, but I have to choose Mask of Shadows for this one.  While it wasn't five stars, it was four which is still really awesome. Plus, I was really emotionally invested in this book because I am so excited to read about fellow genderfluid people! 




Are either of these books on your to-read list?

Monday, 12 June 2017

Forbidden by Syrie James & Ryan M. James


11603886


 Series: N/A
Author: Syrie James & Ryan M. James
Page Count: 410
Published: January 24th, 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
  4 Stars ★★★★


Claire goes to school at Emerson Academy, and she's hoping that she gets to stay there to graduate high school. She and her mother move around a lot, and Claire wants to stay for a while near her friends and crush for once. Things are changing for Claire, though. She's been having visions and she knows things that she shouldn't ... The idea of possibly being psychic scares yet excites her at the same time.

Alec is new at Emerson Academy, but friends and grades are the least of his worries. He's run away from his duties watching out for the spawn of angels, and making sure that those who have turned dark stay in line. He doesn't plan to meet Claire, or to fall for her. But with the possibility of imprisonment if he's found, and his sudden new mission to track down a Nephilim, meeting Claire, and discovering what she is, complicates everything.

It had been a while since I'd read a book about angels, so I figured I'd give this one a try because I'd picked it up so long ago. I was very impressed with the story and the characters, and I thought the romance was really sweet.

I enjoyed the author's use of angel myths, including the Nephilim. While forbidden romances can be cliche at times, I thought that this angel romance was forbidden in the best way possible. It wasn't too far fetched of a conflict, but I thought the problems that the characters faced were sufficient enough that their worries and fears truly made sense. This book had the perfect balance between conflict, romance, and everything else. 

Alec's rebellion against what he'd spent his life doing was one of the best parts of this story. I love when characters rebel or go against what they've been taught to believe, and Alec really fit this criteria. His courage to take a stand for himself and try living a new life at Emerson Academy was admirable, and his feelings for Claire were sincere. Alec was my favourite character because he was just so interesting, he had such a complex past with so many hopes for the future. 

I also find Claire a likeable character, and I enjoyed reading about her powers and visions and how they developed. Claire's friends played an important role supporting Claire in this tough time of her life, and I appreciated that they didn't abandon her when things got really crazy. The characters in this novel were very enjoyable to read about, and that's what made this book so special and interesting. 

However, I truly wish that this book had been longer. It doesn't seem that there's going to be a sequel, and with the ending that Forbidden had, I've found myself rather disappointed. That's the thing that took off a star for me. 

Overall, a great read. Fans of angel stories will like this book, especially if you're looking for a book that doesn't revolve solely around fallen angels. Those who like forbidden romances, especially those in YA, should give this book a try.